Honda dealership paint job?

fgraciano1980

keepin' it clean!
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I'm looking into painting my Civic with the original factory paint color, Granada Black Pearl. I've had some personal horrific experiences with body shops before (i wont go into detail) and I want opinions on taking my car to a Honda dealer to get repainted.

Has anybody had their car painted at a Honda dealer before that can shed some light on the results? How good is their prep work? Anyone know how many gallons of primer, paint and clearcoat they use?

I figure I would get a better job at a dealer since these guys are certified to work on Hondas and know them inside and out.

Any info would be appreciated, thanks.

LatinEM2

La Raza #2
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
all i can say is that it is not going to be cheap....

joe7987

Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Yea... you may get a good job.. but they WILL rip you off.... I'll be completely honest with you.. ANYTHING that you buy at a dealership is f**king expensive as hell...

x007den

New User
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
nothing special about a honda's paint. anyone with the proper skill should be able to do a great job and probably charge cheaper

Melt

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
since you are kinda willing to spring to pay a lot of money to go to honda, let me let you in on a secret.

Come up here to nor cal. Earl Scheib Paint and body in Concord. I had my 94 accord painted there "black pearl" (car was originally granada black pearl) and it looks BEAUTIFUL, and only cost me $440 with body work and shaved emblems. I got a 6 year warranty on it too.

I know you got earl schieb down there too but i dont know the quality of their work.

kellog

5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member