CX or DX ?

805ER

Whats up, everyone.

I am a newbie here and i will be purchasing A 98 civic hatchback this weekend. There are 2 different civics that i have a choice between. One is a CX and the other is a DX. Both cars have around the same miles and are in pretty much the same condition, except the DX is about $500 more... I plan on doing lots of mods and a motor swap also.
So my question is, it worth the extra money to get the DX, or should i just get the CX?

Thanks for any input.

8050ER...

Jolting

The CX is probably a 5th gen. The DX is a 6th gen. The CX if it is a 5th gen has like 70 hp while the DX has like 106 for base model. Personally I would pick the DX because it is probably a higher year. If you play on keeping stock engine then dx should be faster, if you do a swap it wouldn't matter. It will probably be a pain to do a swap in cali with the Carb or whatever it is.

Edit: Sigh, I didn't realize he did put a year, I skimmed over it. Also didn't realize there was in fact a 6th gen CX. I thought the only models were, DX EX LX HX and SI. So my post = fail.

805ER

The CX is probably a 5th gen. The DX is a 6th gen. The CX if it is a 5th gen has like 70 hp while the DX has like 106 for base model. Personally I would pick the DX because it is probably a higher year. If you play on keeping stock engine then dx should be faster, if you do a swap it wouldn't matter. It will probably be a pain to do a swap in cali with the Carb or whatever it is.
I thought 6th gen was from 96 to 00 ?? and the CX is a 98??

nicoyita1

I eat rice. And beans.
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
96-00 the CX and DX have the same engine. The CX is geared shorter I believe whereas the DX is only geared halfway, lol. Also the CX doesn't have rear speakers or come with a CD player.

Neither have power options.

mitka

5+ Year Member