D16 headers question

LanceEK

I have a stock D16. If I bough a set of headers would I be able to keep my Cat converter? I'm pretty new to this, so please be gentle :suprise::what:

CO671

Registered VIP
what year/trim and what kind of engine?
edit: clicked on your 00 Civic and it says to be a DX. For what you want to do, its too much trouble for what its worth, you won't be expecting any power gains anyway only sound.
If you've got a Y7 engine and a Y7 exhaust system you won't be able to keep the stock catalytic converter because it's on the exhaust manifold itself. If you do opt for an aftermarket catalytic converter you'll have to modify your exhaust system to get it welded into your Y7 stock piping, and you will need to modify your secondary/downstream O2 sensor and extend it to reach the modified catalytic converter which is like 2 feet further away.

So:
-New header $100
-New catalytic converter $100
-Weld in catalytic converter to Y7 piping $40
-New O2 extension harness $40

worth it? nahh

LanceEK

So there's not really a point to buy them? How can I get more horse power out of my D16 then?

CO671

Registered VIP
So there's not really a point to buy them? How can I get more horse power out of my D16 then?
Motor swap
Y8 mini-me head swap
Research how to turbo it. I have way too many bookmarks stockpiled to teach you how to turbo.

It's a civic, for civic use, which then relates to economy... it's a gas saving car lol. Just take care of it unless you're for sure going to slap power into it. Do it right the first time.
I love my DX, but the thing I absolutely hate about it is that getting any power out of it is too much work. Also, there is no power in it anyway.... no power windows or locks. :???:

mc360

boosted hx
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
they must have been installed by a previous owner or something thing because no dx model has power anything, the hx model has power windows and locks but no moonroof and the ex model has it all

LanceEK