D16? Vtec? No Vtec?

Hondaskitzo

5+ Year Member
What up Guys? Im a Noob to Civics Honestly. I got this Civic about 3 months ago and im a little confused about the engine in it. The body says its an EX, but im not sure about the engine. Anyway if anybody can visually tell me what this engine is it would be appreciated.

Ive found other EX engines and they look different from mines because the throttle body is not the same so thats why im wondering if i have the correct engine in my ex.

notice how the throttle bodies are different from my car

I came to this question cus I bought the Intake there for an EX and it said it came with everything needed. well if my car had a throttle body like the 2 above then yes i would not have needed anything extra. but i had to go get a 90 degree elbow pipe and the adapter and a couple extra clamps.

So if my engine is indeed not a EX like its supposed to be, Is it a VTEC or Not? :?:

civic209

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
check it says somewhere under the radiator hose connection to the head. if thats a d16y7 then no its not vtec and that throttle body is for a y7

Rocky91890

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
Take a look at the back of the motor on the head. If it is vtec there will be a piece on the same side as the distributor below the hose line that goes from your valve cover to the intake. it will look like a cylinder conected to another piece. that is the vtec solenoid. you can see it in the last picture you posted, but I cant really tell on your motor due to the black hose being in the way...hope it kinda helps...to make it easier if you dont get a response soon, take a pic of the back side of your motor in the area I was talking of and ill give you a 100% answe

31dev31

Chillin' Canadian Member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member