Ignition Timing vs Mechanical Timing: I've got A LOT of questions

Nosepicker

5+ Year Member
I've been searching and reading up on other people's threads so please don't say, "Go search".

My knowledge is very basic but for argument sake let's say I'm a noob w/no knowledge because the following questions are going to sound very stupid and noobish.

First thing first, I got my timing belt kit and I plan on performing the job myself. I can do it if I have proper, basic, instructions.

So, let's move on to the questions:

#1: What is a mechanical timing? What exactly does this job entail? Is this a must if all I'm doing is replacing the timing belt, compressor belt, P/S belt, A/C belt, & water pump?

#2: How do I adjust the timing ignition? I understand I need to advance or retard the distributor or something like that. Is that correct? If so, how do I achieve this? I also understand I need to purchase a timing light but WTF do I do with the light? Shine it on the pulley/belt? What then? What am I looking for? Marks? Can't I see the marks using my flash light?

#3: My car is a D16Y7 (auto) and timing is stated at 12"+/-2....WTF does that mean?

Before you answer my questions, please give me step-by-step procedures or explanation cuz I'll tell you right now I'll ask more (dumb) questions.:lol: As mentioned I've read other threads and even looked at the diagrams but they are still not that clear to me.

TIA for all your help guys.

Indy_Civic

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
I would suggest you buy or download a service manual because as you progress, you will have more questions.

Nosepicker

5+ Year Member
I would suggest you buy or download a service manual because as you progress, you will have more questions.
I do have the service manual. And it is no different from what others are posting and attaching pics of. I guess I just need the explanation in between the directions. :lol:

RonJ

Banned